Home Badge Home team Score Away team Away Badge

Sharlston Rovers


York Acron

Tries : Geoff Hick, Damien Thomas
  • Friendly Preseason
  • Saturday 9th August 2008
  • Ref : Tony Martin

Positives to be taken from Acorn Defeat

Solid display from Emblem

Solid display from Emblem

Sharlston Rovers .. 8
York Acorn .. 24

Sat 9th August - Preseason friendly

Sharlston Rovers’ first hit out of the season wasn’t at all doom and gloom despite a 24-8 defeat to NCL Premier outfit York Acorn.

The travelling York side enjoyed an 18 point unopposed first half lead but Rovers won the second half with tries from debutants Geoff Hick and Damien Thomas.

Acorn added one second half converted try to the tally which along with 2 breakaway tries in the opening half made the victory look more convincing.

Sharlston head coach Lee Bettinson took a lot of positives out of the game saying “We played some good rugby for our first game and I was particularly pleased with our defence. York are a well structured team and I think they will do well in the Conference Premier, they are a big set but I think our lads met them all the way through.

We chose a strong opposition so we could gauge our strengths and weakness’ and this game has done just that. We will be able to work in training for the next 4 weeks before the season starts and we’ll be a stronger team for it.”

Elsewhere the Rovers A team kept the Sharlston flag flying with an away victory over Wakefield City and will hope to continue the preseason success when they host Ryhill Hammers on Saturday, Kick Off 2.30pm.

Sharlston Rovers
1. Geoff Hick 2. Chris Hill 3. Gareth Davies 4. James Byrom 5. Sam Whitehouse 6. Lee Bettinson 7. Carl Spencer 8. Andy Booth 9. Carl Saville 10. Phil Hodgson 11. Sean Emblem 12. Tommy Crowther 13. Craig Miles 14. Gordy Long 15. Mark Hudson 16. Damien Thomas

York Acorn
1. Daniel Liddell 2. Steve Mackley 3. Ben Jones 4. Ian Brown 5. Joe Budd 6. Jonny Liddell 7. Andy Gargan 8. Nic Caldwell 9. Darren Callaghhan 10. Danny Caldwell 11. Michael Embleton 12. Simon Wadsworth 13. Tom Hill 14. Matt Withers 15. Jason Smith 16. Leigh Rientoul 17. Leigh McTigue 18. Mike Williams 19. Davey Burns