Rovers await Challenge Cup Draw

Sharlston Rovers have been invited to participate in the prestigious Challenge Cup this year and await the opening stages draw on Monday 19th December held at Twist Lane, Leigh.

It was expected that Rovers would qualify for inclusion via winning the National Cup last season but in a snub on BARLA from the RFL, Rovers have had to rely on entry as a regional league winner. Last year’s Pennine league winners Queens are still ineligible following a ban imposed by the RFL after their game vs Doncaster in 2009 was abandoned for spectator violence.

The draw held at Leigh Miners Welfare this coming Monday will see 62 entrants drawn, 2 teams will play an extra preliminary round, 44 teams then make up the preliminary round. The 22 winners are then drawn for the first round. Those 11 winners are then joined by 14 NCL Premier teams and the 3 services teams.

Entrants are :
• 38 National Conference League clubs (the 14 NCL Premier teams will join the
• competition in the Second Round)
• 5 Regional League winners
• The Yorkshire and Lancashire County Cup winners
• A nomination from Cumberland ARL
• The British Police
• 6 SRL teams
• The Scottish champions
• The Welsh champions
• 3 Rugby League Conference teams
• 3 Services teams (who will join the competition in the Second Round.)
• North West Men’s League representative

• Extra Preliminary Round 22nd or 29th January
• Preliminary Round 5th February
• First Round 19th February
• Second Round 11th March
• Third Round 25th March
• Fourth Round 15th April