Rovers Carnegie Challenge cup destiny in their own hands

Captain Miles and Chairman Taylor pose with trophy

Captain Miles and Chairman Taylor pose with trophy

Sharlston Rovers hopes of a bye from the preliminary round played just 6 days after the Yorkshire cup final were short lived as they were drawn in the opening round not once, but twice.

The draws for the Preliminary and First Rounds of the 2010 Carnegie Challenge Cup were made at competition sponsors Leeds Metropolitan University by two of this year’s cup winners, Lee Briers and Michael Monaghan of Warrington Wolves.

Representing the Pennine League as last seasons champions Rovers were initially drawn out of the bag away to Oldham based Waterhead but this fixture will only go ahead if Sharlston fail to retain the Yorkshire Cup played Sunday 27th December at Featherstone Rovers versus Hunslet Old Boys.

If Rovers are victorious in the festive final they will take their place in the Challenge cup as Yorkshire cup winners where a mouth-watering preliminary round home fixture vs National Conference Premier top dogs Leigh East is the hurdle into the first round where a visit to Eccles awaits.

For probably the first and only time Pennine runners-up Drighlington will be cheering on Sharlston in the final with the Leeds based rivals taking the Pennine place in the draw at Waterhead if Rovers lift the trophy once again.

Last years Carnegie challenge cup run that lead Rovers to their eventual knockout to the hands of Oldham in the 3rd round saw Rovers edge Leigh East in the 2nd round with a home 22-10 victory.

The full draw is as follows :

Preliminary Round – to be played on 2 and 3 January
Pool A
Leigh Miners Rangers V Millom ARLFC
York Acorn ARLFC V Skirlaugh ARLFC
Orchard Park & Greenwood V Wath Brow Hornets
Waterhead ARLFC V Sharlston Rovers *1
Egremont Rangers V Oulton Raiders
Widnes St Maries V Myton Warriors ARLFC
Yorkshire Cup Winners*2 V Leigh East
Oldham St Annes V Wigan St Judes ARLFC
West Bowling ARLFC V Normanton Knights ARLFC
Wigan St Patricks V Broughton Red Rose

*1 Drighlington will replace Sharlston as Pennine representative if Sharlston win the Yorkshire cup
*2 The winners of final Hunslet Old Boys or Sharlston Rovers played Sunday 27th December at
Featherstone Rovers KO 12noon

Pool B
Nottingham Outlaws V Hull University
Warrington Wizards V Birmingham University
Leeds Met University V St Mary’s University

1st Round Draw – to be played on 23 and 24 January.
Pool A
Orchard Park & Greenwood or Wath Brow V Kells
Stanningley V Oldham St Annes or Wigan St Judes
Bradford Dudley Hill V Castleford Panthers
Castleford Lock Lane V Thornhill Trojans
Shaw Cross Sharks V Leigh Miners Rangers or Millom
Crosfields V Rochdale Mayfield
Ince Rose Bridge V Egremont Rangers or Oulton Raiders
Milford Marlins V Eastmoor Dragons
Heworth V Hunslet Warriors
Saddleworth Rangers V Siddal
York Acorn or Skirlaugh V Thatto Heath Crusaders
East Hull V Stanley Rangers
Eccles & Salford Juniors V Yorkshire Cup Winners or Leigh East
Hull Dockers V Halton Simms Cross
West Bowling or Normanton Knights V Wigan St Patricks or Broughton Red Rose
East Leeds V Ovenden
Waterhead or Sharlston Rovers V West Hull
Widnes St Maries or Myton Warriors V Lancashire Cup Winners*3

*3 Winners of Lancashire cup Final Ryland or Halton Simms Cross

Pool B
RAF V Warrington Wizards or Birmingham University
British Police V Dewsbury Celtic
West London Sharks V Nottingham Outlaws or Hull University
Featherstone Lions V Army
Leeds Met University or St Mary’s University V Loughborough University
Gloucestershire University V Edinburgh Eagles
Northumbria University V Navy
Blackwood Bulldogs V Edge Hill University

For the Preliminary Round of the competition 62 sides were split into two pools.

Pool A consisted of 46 teams - 38 National Conference League clubs, the five regional winners, the Lancashire and Yorkshire Cup winners and Broughton Red Rose. Ten matches were drawn with 26 sides receiving a bye to the First Round.

Pool B contained 16 teams – the British Police, eight University teams, Scottish champions, Welsh champions and five Rugby League conference teams. Three matches were drawn with 10 clubs receiving a bye to the first round where they were joined by three service teams.

The first round of the draw again saw sides split into two pools – 18 matches were drawn from Pool A and eight matches from Pool B.

No clubs received byes in the First Round.