Home Badge Home team Score Away team Away Badge

Ackworth Jaguars


Sharlston Rovers

Tries : Chris Bingham, Chris Hill x2, James Lockwood, Chris Shaw, Dale Ferris, Steve Frogett, Sean Emblem
Goals : Dale Ferris 4
  • Wakefield Unison Presidents Cup Final at Fev
  • Tuesday 12th May 2009
  • Ref : Tom Crashley

Six on the Spin for Sharlston

Ackworth Jaguars 8
Sharlston Rovers 34

Wakefield ARL UNISON Presidents Cup Final

SHARLSTON Rovers continued their impressive haul of honours this season by bagging the Wakefield ARL Unison President's Cup on Tuesday night.

The Weeland Road Club made it six President's Cup triumphs on the spin thanks to a relatively comfortable victory over Ackworth Jaguars at Featherstone Rovers' Chris Moyles Stadium.

Rovers have already placed the Yorkshire Cup, Pennine Premier League and Pennine League President's Cup trophy in their ever-expanding trophy cabinet this term.

And Tuesday night's victory over the Jaguars was never in doubt, despite Ackworth putting the first points on the board through a penaly goal on five minutes.

Chris Bingham responded for Rovers with a tenth minute try converted by Dale Ferris.

And Chris Hill stepped in with two unconverted tries before half-time to put Sharlston Rovers in the driving seat.

The Pennine Premier side stamped their authority on the game with tries from James Lockwood, Chris Shaw, Ferris and Steve Frogett on the resumption, two of which were improved by the boot of Ferris.

Jaguars clawed some points back as Barnett crossed the whitewash for their only try.

But Sean Emblem's try, improved by Ferris, completed the Rovers rout.